ROYAL PERTH YACHT CLUB OF WA (INC)

MINUTES OF THE 152ND ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY 27TH July 2017

CHAIRMAN:

The Commodore (Mr M Campbell) occupied the Chair and declared the meeting open at 1915 hrs welcoming members and invited guests.

ATTENDANCE:

Commodore (Mr M Campbell), Vice Commodore (Mr M Hansen), Rear Commodore (Mr G Kirk), Hon. Treasurer (Mr G O'Neill), Captain Sail (Mr A Waldby), Captain Dinghies (Mr A McAullay), 5 members of General Committee, 161 members, General Manager (Mr SN Walton), Minutes Secretary (Ms G Tosh), Financial Controller (Mr N Smith), Public Relations Officer (Ms K Scott), and William Buck Audit (WA) partner Mr C Manifis.

APOLOGIES:

Mr John McKay, Mr Richard Brisbane-Cohen, Mr Graham White AM, Mr Bob Mather, Mr Bill Peacock, Mr Reg Cornelisse, Mr Jamie Mercer, Mr Ken Stokes, Mr Bob Phelps, Mr Geoff Connor, Mr Ken Brookes, Mr Richard Court, Cdre Kel Quinlan, Mr John Guhl, Mr Jon Sanders, Mr Mike McAullay, Mr Bob Felton.

DECEASED Members since the last AGM:

Mr Tom Alford AM, Mr John Del Basso, Cdre David Foulkes, Mr Ronald Hewer, Mr Peter Horley, Mr Alan Knight, Mr Ernest (Dick) Reilly Snr, Mr Anthony Robotham, Mr Peter Rumble, Mr Bob Smyth OAM, Mr Alan Tough OAM, Mr Guy Travis.

NOTICE OF MEETING:

The Chairman read the Notice of meeting convening the 152^{nd} Annual General Meeting.

MINUTES OF THE 151st ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:

Moved by Commodore Mike Campbell "that the minutes of the 151st Annual General Meeting held on Thursday, 28th July 2016 be carried."

Seconded R/Cdre Greg Kirk

ADOPTED & CARRIED

COMMODORE'S ADDRESS:

The Commodore summarised the key areas of achievement for the Club over the past year.

He commented that a detailed review of the activities during the past year will be provided by the Flag Officers later in the meeting.

The Commodore thanked his Committee, General Manager, Staff and Members. Including a personal thanks to Hon. Treasurer Greg O'Neill for his 14 years on Committee, 9 of those years as Hon. Treasurer and wished him well for his success going forward.

The Commodore introduced the new RPYC Strategy 2022 – Focus, Connect and Grow.

The new strategy will set the foundation for the Club to go from a good Club to a great Club.

FINANCIAL REPORT:

The Hon Treasurer moved "that the Statement of Profit and Loss and comprehensive Income, State of Changes in Equity, Statement of Financial Position and Statement of Cash Flows for the year ending 31st May 2017 be adopted".

Seconded Cdre Phil Mostyn
ADOPTED & CARRIED

The Hon Treasurer summarised his report, which appeared in the 152nd Annual Report, outlining the Performance Overview and Key Issues.

No questions.

REGATTA REPORT:

Presented by the Vice Commodore which included the success our Junior and Senior Members have had at State, National and International Regattas.

No questions.

HOUSE REPORT:

Presented by the Rear Commodore, his report outlined the update of the composition of the House Committee including a number of new members.

His report also outlined the variety of events held at the Club over the past twelve months along with the Committee's vision for the future.

No questions.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS [Part 1]:

As there are a number of members contesting the positions of Rear Commodore, Captain Sail and General Committee the meeting was adjourned so that Full, Permanent and Honorary Life members can cast their vote.

2030 hrs meeting re-opened. Votes will be counted and the results will be announced later in the meeting.

MOTION PUT TO MEETING:

Notice of Motion - Endorsed by all members of General Committee present at a meeting held on 13th June 2017.

The Hon Treasurer moved "that in accordance with the Club's By-Laws section 8, Clause 8.2.4.1, the subscription for a Full Member of the Royal Perth Yacht Club, for the financial year 2017/2018, will be set at \$1,475.00 (previously \$1,454.00) inclusive of GST. All Members subscriptions, as adjusted, are the fees due and payable with effect from 1st September 2017."

Seconded Ray House **Carried**

SPECIAL RESOLUTION:

Special Resolution to amend the Constitution

Commodore Mike Campbell moved "that the special resolution as issued with the 2016/17 Annual Report under section 51 of the Associations and Incorporations Act 2015 (WA) and rule 37 of the Constitution be adopted."

Seconded V/Cdre Mark Hansen

Carried

GENERAL BUSINESS:

Club Awards

Commodore's Commendation, presented by Commodore Mike Campbell

- Helen McAullay
- Kim Short
- Jennifer McAullay
- John and Debra Allpike
- Louise Winteringham
- Prof John Wager

Horace Rumble Award, presented by Commodore Mike Campbell

• Garry Deane

Corinthian Member, presented by Commodore Mike Campbell

Colin Harrison

Crawley Club House – Concept Plans

To achieve our 'Mission' of 'providing world class facilities including the Clubhouse, our marinas and facilities' (strategic plan) we need to refurbish the ground floor of the Crawley building because:

- Our bathrooms are old, tired and suffering from major plumbing problems.
- The front entry to the Club is outdated and has no 'WOW' factor.
- The twilight bar and riverside lawn present very poorly.
- The southern carpark suffers from major drainage problems and is in urgent need of re-surfacing.

The Committee tasked the GM with producing a costed concept plan for a major upgrade.

If we do nothing, the Club is likely to lose our ability to attract new members.

GM presented the concept plan for the refurbishment of the ground floor Crawley Clubhouse.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS [Part 2]:

The votes have been counted and I now declare the following elected for 2017/2018:

COMMODORE [uncontested] DR MARK HANSEN
VICE COMMODORE [uncontested] MR GREG O'NEILL
HON TREASURER [uncontested] MR BRAD WEARN
CAPTAIN DINGHIES [uncontested] MR ANDREW MCAULLAY

There having been 2 nominees for the position of Rear Commodore, I declare the following elected for 2017/2018:

REAR COMMODORE MR SHAWN OFFER

There having been 2 nominees for the position of Captain Sail, I declare the following elected for 2017/2018:

CAPTAIN SAIL DR JANET HORNBUCKLE

There having been 7 nominees for the 5 positions on General Committee, I declare the following elected for 2017/2018:

GENERAL COMMITTEE	MR TRENT CARTER
GENERAL COMMITTEE	MR GREG KIRK
GENERAL COMMITTEE	MR ROBERT GIBBS
GENERAL COMMITTEE	MRS KAREN KOEDYK
GENERAL COMMITTEE	MRS VERA WALDBY

GENERAL BUSINESS (cont.)

There being no further business the Commodore thanked the members for their attendance.

Meeting closed at 2107 hrs.

CHAIRMAN	
DATE	