ROYAL PERTH YACHT CLUB OF WA (INC)

MINUTES OF THE 153RD ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON MONDAY, 30TH JULY 2018

CHAIRMAN:

The Commodore (Dr M Hansen) occupied the Chair and declared the meeting open at 1833 hrs welcoming members and invited guests.

ATTENDANCE:

Commodore (Dr M Hansen), Vice Commodore (Mr G O'Neill), Rear Commodore (Mr S Offer), Captain Sail (Dr J Hornbuckle), 5 members of General Committee, 59 members, General Manager (Mr SN Walton), Minutes Secretary (Ms G Tosh), Financial Controller (Mr N Smith), Public Relations Officer (Ms K Scott), and William Buck Audit (WA) partner Mr C Manifis.

APOLOGIES:

Hon. Treasurer (Mr B Wearn), Captain Dinghies (Mr A McAullay), Cdre John Flower, Mr Graham White AM, Mr Colin Harrison OAM, Mr Denis Cosgrove, Mr Ron Meyers, Mr Rob Martin, Mr Kingsley Piesse, Dr Simon Torvaldson, Mr Doug Kerr, Mr Terry Barry, Cdre Denys Pearce, Mr Robert Fitzpatrick, Cdre Mike Campbell, Mr John Chappell, Ms Andrea Cousins, Mr Dennis Vincent, Mr Ben Williams, Mr Gerry Brennan, Mrs Pamela Hann, Mr Barry Johnson, Mr Nick Melidonis, Mr Gil McCallum, Mr Michael Coe, Mr John McKay, Cdre Ian Cameron, Ms Sarah O'Neill, Mr Jeremy O'Neill, Ms Jennifer O'Neill, Ms Astrid Hansen, Mr Graham Hansen, Ms Sadie Blessas, Mr Antonino Riolo, Ms Angela Riolo, Ms Jen Richardson, Mrs Lynette Merrington, Mr Bill Steele.

DECEASED Members since the last AGM:

Mr Darryl Black, Cdre David Foulkes, Mr Charles Goh, Ms Judith Kerville, Mr Kevin McCarthy, Mr Rory Riley, Mr Guy Travis, Mr Don Valentino.

NOTICE OF MEETING:

The Chairman read the Notice of meeting convening the 153rd Annual General Meeting.

MINUTES OF THE 152nd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:

Moved by Commodore Mark Hansen "*that the minutes of the 152nd Annual General Meeting held on Thursday, 27th July 2017 be carried.*"

CARRIED

COMMODORE'S ADDRESS:

The Commodore summarised the key areas of achievement for the Club over the past year.

He commented that a detailed review of the activities during the past year will be provided by the Flag Officers later in the meeting.

The Commodore thanked General Manager, Committee, Staff and Members.

FINANCIAL REPORT:

In the absence of The Hon Treasurer, Mr Greg Kirk moved "that the Statement of Profit and Loss and comprehensive Income, State of Changes in Equity, Statement of Financial Position and Statement of Cash Flows for the year ending 31st May 2018 be adopted".

Seconded V/Cdre Greg O'Neill ADOPTED & CARRIED

Mr Greg Kirk (on behalf of The Hon Treasurer) summarised the Treasurers report, which appeared in the 153rd Annual Report, outlining the Performance Overview and Key Issues.

No questions.

REGATTA REPORT:

Presented by the Vice Commodore which included the success our Junior and Senior Members have had at State, National and International Regattas.

No questions.

HOUSE REPORT:

Presented by the Rear Commodore, his report outlined the update of the composition of the House Committee including a number of new members.

His report also outlined the variety of events held at the Club over the past twelve months along with the Committee's vision for the future.

No questions.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

As only one nomination has been received for each position on the General Committee, the following were elected for 2018/2019:

COMMODORE VICE COMMODORE REAR COMMODORE HON TREASURER CAPTAIN SAIL CAPTAIN DINGHIES

DR MARK HANSEN MR GREG O'NEILL MR SHAWN OFFER MR BRAD WEARN DR JANET HORNBUCKLE MR ANDREW MCAULLAY

MR TRENT CARTER MR ROBERT GIBBS MR GREGK KIRK MRS KAREN KOEDYK MRS VERA WALDBY

MOTION PUT TO MEETING:

Notice of Motion - Endorsed by all members of General Committee present at a meeting held on 12th June 2018.

Mr Greg Kirk moved "that in accordance with the Club's By-Laws section 8, Clause 8.2.4.1, the subscription for a Full Member of the Royal Perth Yacht Club, will be set at \$1,500.00 (previously \$1,475.00) inclusive of GST. All Members subscriptions, as adjusted, are the fees due and payable with effect from 1st September, 2018."

Seconded R/Cdre Shawn Offer Carried

GENERAL BUSINESS:

Member Awards (presented by Cdre Mark Hansen)

Horace Rumble Award Mrs Helen Baker

Commodores Commendation Ms Jen Richardson (absent)

Mr Bill Steele (absent)

There being no further business the Commodore thanked the members for their attendance.

Meeting closed at 1947 hrs.

CHAIRMAN

DATE

29th July 2019